The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Blanketing the horse that lives out 24/7

For those who have horses out 24/7, how do you blanket your guys? Do you own a thousand blankets and switch them around when they get wet? How heavily do you blanket them? Do you let them grow a bit of a coat to survive the elements?

Clearly, its my first year having my mare outside 24/7 in the winter!

I have one clipped and one unclipped, and generally blanket the clipped guy any time it is below 50ish at night, 45ish during the day, or very wet, and the unclipped guy any time it is below 40 or if it is in the 40s but raining.

I have a bunch of blankets, but really don't use that many of them! If it is going to be raining really hard, I often use a turnout sheet over the turnout blankets, so that only the one sheet per horse gets really wet.

For the clipped horse what I actually use is:
    --regular turnout sheet that is not super waterproof (40-50 degrees)
    --turnout sheet with full neck that is waterproof (40-50 degrees; top layer in wet weather)
    --100 g regular turnout blanket (35-45 degrees)
    --midweight turnout blanket with full neck (20-35 degrees)

Below 20 I will use both blankets. Below 5 or so I will sub in the heavy weight blanket for the 100 g one.

For the unclipped pony, I use:
    --turnout sheet (35-50 degrees)
    --100 g blanket (30-40 degrees)
    --midweight turnout blanket (15-30 degrees)

Below 15 I will use both blankets. It doesn't get cold enough for more than that.

Depends on how shaggy the horse is and how sensitive it is to cold.

A shaggy draft cross might be fine with no blankets and just an adequate shelter from wind and rain, and plenty of hay to eat to generate heat internally.

Other horses might appreciate a blanket when the weather is especially cold, windy, wet, snowy and any combination thereof.