The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Those who trained horses to upper levels...

...what were you typically working on with your "first level" horses?

I am new to dressage as a discipline, and know there's a LOT I don't know. Right now I've trained one horse up to schooling 2nd level pretty nicely and another schooling first, so I'll call them my training level and first level horses. Ultimately, though - I don't care what their current level is - I care about doing the right things to move upward (at least with the more advanced one... the other is my mom's trail horse I'm playing with, and I question if she'll be capable of going beyond 2nd - we'll just play and see what happens.)

What should I be working on that as a newbie I'm likely to miss?

My 1st level horse is a fire breathing dragon away from home, which is actually great as it has really made me aware of some ineffectiveness in my seat. I've mentioned the rider boot camp I'm forcing on myself this fall, and that I'm riding with a biomechanics instructor as well as taking longe lessons with my normal trainer. My trainer and I are also trying to work out going up to work with a GP trainer out of town, because she agrees with me that getting different perspectives helps you find the holes just one person is likely to miss.

Right now I'm working on improving balance and strength at the trot with my horse, because canter is definitely his better gait. Strong half halts at the canter get massive sit and the feeling that pirouettes will be EASY. I do a lot of transitions within the canter to get that responsiveness, followed by lengthening the canter, back to collected, into working, etc. We're starting lead changes and half pass, too. The canter work is just easy for him, which makes it incredibly fun.