The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Insulin resistant/pre-cushings/cushings HELP!!

So my horse just had some tests done and sure enough, no more sugar. Unfortunately he is a mama's boy who is spoiled by treats, so now that I have to hold off he keeps giving me these looks as if to say "Why do you hate me? What did I do wrong?". It's killing me. The vet said no sugar, low carb treats are ok. Peppermints are allowed too, and the occasional treat treat won't hurt him. I have to talk to the vet again because I am new to this and am not totally clear on what I should be restricting/looking for in treats. I hate peppermints, so I want something new. He is allowed one sugar cube a day, but that is certainly not enough

So anyway, has anyone found good treats for horses with cushings/pre-cushings or who are insulin resistant?

The usual at our house is:

Celery (not as yummy as carrots, but they learn to love it)
    Roasted peanuts in the shell
    Sugar Free Peppermints ( or any other hard candy with No Sugar)

Along with SmartAlex's recommendations, my IR Percheron A-D-O-R-E-S Herballs

I give raw, in-the-shell peanuts (good protein without the sugars of alfalfa) and BOSS.
    <>< Sorrow Looks Back. Worry Looks Around. Faith Looks Up! -- "When they try to tell you these are your Golden years, don't believe 'em.... It's rust."

What you give them matters much less than the fact that you gave them something. A timothy hay pellet makes them just as happy.
    EDDIE WOULD GO

Great suggestions.....I would also subtraction check out Heiro. I think it's www.heiro.com. This supplement makes all the difference in the world for mine. She can be on pasture without a muzzle as long as we are reasonable. Her feet aren't sore either. There are other great suggestions on the site that might be of help to you. Sadly, most veterinarians don't know about Heiro. Good luck!