The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Anybody else not particularly thrilled with life?

Posting under an alter, obviously.

I'm just not super impressed with life right now. I feel like I've completely lost my sense of direction. It used to be, I had goals and a plan. Now, it seems I've sort of lost the plot, so to speak.

I graduated from college a couple of years ago. I've been working ever since. I have a decent job, with decent pay and benefits, but without any real upward mobility. So no real direction there.

I still live in the town I went to school in, mostly because I couldn't think of a reason to choose any other place in particular.

I'm in a longterm relationship that doesn't seem to be going anywhere fast either. 5+ years, lots of talk about the "m" word and moving in together, very little actual action on the part of SO. Not particularly happy about this either. I feel like it's getting to be time to move forward or call it quits.

So, basically, I'm lost. I don't have any sense of direction in my life and it's making me a little crazy. And a lot depressed.

Any advice?
    Anyone else?

No advice here - I feel the same way. Only I've never really had goals or much of a plan, so perhaps that's catching up with me.

I graduated from college in May and I'm back home living with the parents. I do have a legit non-retail, non-food service job, but the money is lousy. I was sort of excited about at least getting to ride regularly and show some while building a resume, but of course the week I got my job, horse went mysteriously NQR.

And my father just decided to throw a tantrum about the bill for Horse's SI injection. The bill I'm paying. And while I realize that since I live here (which, let's face it, thrills me as much as it thrills them), the parents are in effect subsidizing my life, I'd rather they mind their own business.