The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Differences in TBs from different countries

Are there substantial differences in TBs from the UK, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia, Canada and South America, that make them heartier than the US bred TBs?

The difference in type is generally related to their jobs.
    ... _. ._ .._. .._

First and foremost, I am NOT an expert on international racing. But I know enough to be dangerous.

From my understanding, there is very little genetic difference in thoroughbreds in other part of the world anymore. Horses shuttle back and forth quite easily, and popular US bloodlines have influenced TBs most everywhere. International buyers are present at US-based sales, just like US buyers travel overseas for sales as well. No longer are countries' bloodlines isolated.

Most differences are found in the lifestyle, conditioning, and types of racing the horses campaign in. Racing in Europe and Australia is predominately on the grass. The races are longer and slower when compared to the most common US distances. Decreased speed = decreased risk of injury.

Also, US racing is most frequently found in populated, urban areas. Horses living on the racetrack in US cities don't have the natural lifestyle as racehorses in say, Europe, where tracks are often located in the countryside with turnout, etc. And while they also have 2 year old races in Europe and start horses at about the same age, there are many more opportunities for older horses to be competitive in Europe than there are in the US. A little less pressure to have them run as frequently right off the bat.

And these days, Canadian racing is pretty much identical to US racing.
    Don't fall for a girl who fell for a horse just to be number two in her world... ~EFO

Quote Originally Posted by Starda01 View Post