The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Is this normal?

So I am a working student at my barn, and I have a very good relationship with my trainers. So heres the situation, a friend of my is searching for a new horse. She is going to look at one in a couple days with my trainers. My trainer asked if I wouldnlike to come. Is this normal for the working student to go? Or should I just stay out of it?

It's a learning opportunity that seems (to me) directly related to your job - why would you not go?

Why wouldn't it be normal? I'm assuming as a working student you are interested in the day to day running of an equestrian business...well sales are a part of many.

If you feel uncomfortable because it is YOUR friend - ask her if she's okay with it. A good friend wouldn't mind you coming along and may want your input. If all is okay, then go and have a good time :-)

I'm not worried about my friend, I think she would like the company actually. I just didn't know if it was more a trainer to client type of thing, but I do think it would be a good learning experience and I want to go. Thanks everybody for your help!

ditto, not weird. I had someone tag along when I was looking at horses and it was actually nice to have some company!

I think it would be good for you to go. If you feel that you are intruding at any point, just step back out of earshot and let them talk, for example if they start talking $$ and you don't want to be in the middle of it

I go EVERY time my trainer asks me to accompany her on a shopping expedition. I've never been with her while shopping for a friend, at least not that I'm aware of. Never pass up on an opportunity to learn, or make connections!!!!!
    "Rock n' roll's not through, yeah, I'm sewing wings on this thing." --Destroyer
    http://dressagescriblog.wordpress.com/