The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Rec. Your Bareback Pad

I'm looking for some plugs for great bareback pads. After spending a month trying on a zillion saddles for my horse, I've decided to wait a few months, save some money, let my horse's back readjust from the poor fit of the former saddle, and ride bareback before I try another saddle search. I've never used a bareback pad before, always just ridden ON the horse. However, to ride my shark withered OTTB bareback, there has to be something in between us, perferably with a lot of padding!

Let me know any brands that you like, stirrups or no stirrups, etc. Thanks!!

I don't like the ones with stirrups at all. My concern is that without a tree, having stirrups makes you much more likely to have a nasty accident if your horse spooks and you wind up underneath them because the pad slips.

I have a Best Friends that I love! Not the best for shark fins, but better than some. I've seen the ThinLine one and I'm coveting it. If you can splurge, that's what I'd go for.
    Flip a coin. It's not what side lands that matters, but what side you were hoping for when the coin was still in the air.

You call it boxed wine. I call it carboardeaux.

Proud owner of one Lunar acre! (Campanus Crater, The Moon)

"Relinquish your whip!!"

This is hands-down the absolute BEST bareback pad EVER! It costs a fortune, but is worth every penny. I've had mine for about 2 years and use it at least a couple of times a month. It really holds you in like a saddle and is super comfortable.

Christ Premium Bareback Pad
    http://www.horsedreamimporters.com/p...?product=C6302

I do not recommend using ANY bareback pad with stirrups!

PS - The L'Aapogee bareback pad is a copy of the Christ one. Having sat in both, the Christ is nicer.

1 members found this post helpful.