The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Collision Course--US Population growth and field sports

When I started riding in western Ma. in 1950, there were about 150 million Americans. Lots of farms, dairy cows all over New England, sort of the tail end of a semi agrarian society. Now in 2010 there are about 307 million of us (by Google)

This will seem more noticible if you live near Washington, DC than in Aroostock Co Maine!
    Again by Google, by 2050, when a now 15 year old kid will be 64, the projection is that there will be 4,201,000. Americans.

Do the math. Cows and other human feedstock will need forage and pasture, so where will horses get shoved to?

Analitical leaders of eventing have some thinking to do, based not on fuzzy minded "We love our ponies", but on the overwhelming threats of demographic realities. Who is doing this thinking?

Or we can just pretend it isn`t happening, the more typical human response to these unpleasant projections.
    Last edited by denny; Aug. 22, 2011 at 09:59 AM.

There's something a bit off about that growth rate projection.... it's way beyond geometric. I think they need to go back and check their numbers.

The number of children born in the U.S. peaked with a record 4.3 million births in 2007, but has since fallen, dropping to 4 million births last year, according to estimates by the National Center for Health Statistics. The birth rate -- a measure of births per 1,000 people -- has dropped 10%.

Source: http://money.cnn.com/2011/08/11/pf/r...on_birth_rate/

Not saying CNN is all that authoritative, But basically the entire population of India and China would have to move to the US to make those numbers realistic.... which would take longer than 50 years.
    Last edited by Belg; Aug. 22, 2011 at 09:26 AM. Reason: Numbers.
    Nudging "Almost Heaven" a little closer still...