The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Adult "Re-Rider," first ever horse show this weekend- tips?

Hi all! This is my first post... eek! (I've been lurking for a while, hehe)

Anyhow, I rode a bit when I was young but never competitively. This year I have returned to the saddle now at 30 years young. I've been riding quite a lot with a trainer for the last 7 months and she's convinced me to compete in a few classes at a local show this weekend.

My questions- are there any others out there who only truly began riding h/j as an adult and began competing early? Is it odd to be in a ring as an adult with very young ladies and gentlemen? Any recommendations of benchmarks that you set for yourself, classes that you particularly enjoyed early on, etc? I am very ambitious and would love to progress in my riding, and need to get my start somewhere!

Have a glass of wine before you go in. Trust me on this one.

As a fellow re-rider (I was very competitive as a junior, took 16 years off, then went back down the slippery slope to owing multiples and competing), I have been where you are at. The first show I did was an in barn schooling show, and I was so happy to just get around without throwing up or falling off. At that point, I had been back riding about 6 months. All hell broke loose after that first show, as my husband likes to point out, and I quickly started showing at rated shows again.

No, it is not odd to be in the ring with the young ones, but it can be intimidating. Nothing like having a fearless 10 year old put down a perfect round right before you. But at the same time, it will keep you thinking, "if the kid can do it, surely I can too."