The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

OK, this is going to be a long one, And a rant.

I board 3 horses at a barn where I have been boarding for 7 years. I have always been a good client, have been consistently in full training (even though trainers have changed a few times over the years), volunteer at all of the barn shows, help with all of the clinics, ride in most shows and clinics, support/advertise the barn in a positive way whenever I can, and pay all of my bills in full EARLY! I avoid gossip and barn drama, and have been boarding at this farm longer than any other boarder that is there. I have also been boarding there longer than any of the current workers or trainers have been employed there.

I will take time out of my day to give barn tours to potential boarders or looky-loos to provide good PR for the farm when they stop by. I talk to parents with potential lesson students and give them advise and let them pet my horses.

The list goes on and on about little ways that I help around the farm. I help bring in horses, I volunteer to help out when they are short a worker or two, I help make grain, feed, etc. just to be nice (for free, just because I'm there and they need help). The board at this farm is full board, and the cost is over $900 per month per horse. Yes, that is $2700 per month in board, not including training. And I still help out around the barn with chores. Board does not include worming, supplements, or anything other than basic care, bedding, food, blanket changing, and services like that.