The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Question Heeeeeeeelp - headshaking. *UPDATE post 153* Even in retirement...all beat up

I have had my 6yo OTTB for two years now. Since I got him, the very first time I rode outside, he began a violent up-and-down head tossing motion, throwing his nose to his chest and then up toward the sky. It doesn't matter if we are on a trail, in a dirt/sand/rubber ring, or riding on grass. Always. In the sun, and after dark (today I rode him after sunset to prove that).

I have NO experience with horses with allergies. He does NOT do this indoors, and never has. I tried to do some Googling and some COTH searching, but for me, it is hard to draw the line between the possible quackery (I'm not going to stop vaccinating my horse) and the legitimate scientific knowledge that exists regarding equine allergies. Can I get him allergy tested, or do vets just broadly treat with stuff like Prednisone and Dex? If anyone has any personal experience or resourceful links/books, PLEASE, share!

Seeing as we are eventers, this whole "not okay riding outside" thing is not gonna work for us. I need my horse to be comfortable outside, riding him outdoors makes me feel like I am torturing the poor guy.

I'm a wee bit tired, so I probably left out a lot of useful info pertaining to this specific horse, so feel free to ask Q's! Thank you!