The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Gelato adventures: duck and olive oil

Thus far my favorite homemade gelato is Mario Battali's olive oil gelato; I found the recipe online.
    It's glorious with a bit of fleur de sel or pink Himalayan salt, and it keeps a nice gelato texture for weeks in the freezer (a lot of homemade gelatos will freeze up hard quite quickly).

Yesterday I went to the farmer's market and picked up some duck eggs, and so decided to make the olive oil gelato with the duck yolks instead of chicken.

I suspect the "ducks" may actually be some breed of GMO creatures, duck/Play-Doh hybrids specifically. The yolks are so weird. I was separating them in my hands, and they retained the imprint of my fingers before slooowly, over minutes, returning to a roundish shape. Is this normal? They were in the fridge overnight, and I have no experience with duck eggs at all.

In any case, the custard base is just so much richer* than when I make it with chicken eggs. I currently have a plain and a chocolate one in their ice baths, and I'll be adding Sweetwater Growers' rosemary-infused EVOO to both. Can't wait

* also had them scrambled yesterday. Just...idk, richer, more "like eggs should really taste". And I've had non-battery farmed chicken eggs before.

Sounds awesome! I can't remember about a fingerprint /texture like you were saying, but my biological mom had ducks in her garden in new Mexico. The eggs were awesome for cooking! They also make a great french toast :-)

That gelato really does sound heavenly. Let us know how it is!