The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Suggestions for college grad now job searching

I graduated from college in 2010 with BA's in both English (writing concentration) and Music (performance). Since then I've been searching for a job, and at this point I'm not sure where to turn. I live in Western MA between the Pittsfield and Great Barrington areas. I've worked at a vet's office and most recently substituted in a local school system, but I really need something full time, or at least 2 part time jobs, to make things work (I do have loans to pay back). Right now I'm babysitting and pet sitting, and I also do a bit of freelance writing for a few horse publications.

I guess I'm looking for advice/suggestions as to where to go now!? Ideally I'd like to go to grad school in the future probably for writing, as my ultimate goal is to write for magazines, etc. I've had some success with a few equine magazines, and would love to continue to expand on that (both writing for equine-related publications and non equine-related), so I'm building my portfolio well. I worked with the career services center of my college, but they didn't have any specific advice as far as the fields I'm interested in.

I'm aware that I might not be able to have a writing-related job right off the bat, and that's fine. I've worked as a receptionist in the past and have TONS of customer service experience, and I've been applying for any sort of receptionist/assistant/office position I can find, but haven't had any luck yet (I've been doing this for 6 months). I have contacted a local temp agency, but haven't had great luck through them. Actually, I get a weird feeling in dealing with them, but haven't found another temp agency in the area. I know that I have to be patient in this economy, but I'm truly running out of time. I can substitute this fall, but finances are SO tight when I do.