The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    hunterhopeful Guest

Question Am I too old? (I hope not)

I have been lurking here for quite a while and really enjoy this forum. I am looking to get some feedback about my goal. I am in my mid 50s and want to learn to jump and show hunters. A bit about me: I am a re-rider although I never jumped as a kid or had any formal training. I have been riding for a couple of years now on the flat, taking lessons with some good and some not so good trainers. I had a riding accident a couple of years ago that put in me in the hospital for a few days so my confidence was kind of shattered for a while. However, I am doing great now and feel very good about where I am at and where I want to go. I want to know if you think I am too old to begin jumping.

no way!! I ride with a woman who is in her late 50's who just started learning how to jump 7 years ago and she does great. I think as long as you have the will, find a good trainer with nice, safe, and well trained horses you will have a blast!

A good friend of mine (in her early 60s) who had never ridden until about 3 years ago, first jumped this time last year is now rocking the PreAdults and having a blast. Go for it! I would second KateKat, the right horse is key.

Quote Originally Posted by hunterhopeful View Post