The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Mowing when its dry

So everyone says to mow your pastures to ensure good root growth and prevent/eliminate weeds. I do this...but only in the spring and fall when growth is going well. Right now, if you forget about the freak 7.9" rain event we had last Saturday, we've been really, really dry, so I haven't mowed my fields, preferring to leave some standing plants.

Did I do the right thing? Or should I mow anyway even though regrowth is likely to be very limited for the next 3-4 weeks until we hit fall (and the rains hopefully pick up). For what its worth, I'm in Virginia.

I'm no expert, but I never mow my fields when it is dry. I'm afraid it would make the grass turn brown, which is not what I'm after. If it is really dry then usually there isn't much growth, so the need to mow is not as great.

Why do you need to mow? Are there weeds towering over the grass? If only a few, like thistles, I have hand chopped them down.

The most important thing I have found to keep my pastures nice is to not let the weeds go to seed. So if it's dry and the weeds don't have seed heads on them you are probably ok.
    If they have seed heads, I would cut it, but cut it high. Otherwise as soon as you get some rain those weed seeds are going to jump off and you'll have a mess.
    If you can keep the weeds from seeding and cut it high, eventually the grass will choke out the weeds.
    That and regular dragging seems to be the trick for me.

If the weeds don't have seed heads yet then I would leave it be.
    "Perhaps the final test of anybody's love of dogs is their willingness to permit them to make a camping ground of the bed" -Henry T. Merwin