The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default WWYD - walk away or stay?

I have boarded my horse (and my munchkin in training) at a barn #1 right by my house. However, I have been riding for a little over 2 years now at a barn, barn #2, not too far away from my house that I got involved with in college. The college team has since left that barn, but I stayed as it is right near my house. There is a TB (who is a lesson horse also) that I have ridden for almost a year and a half up there, but due to the lessons I always feel like we make progress only to go back to where he was. (No, taking him out of the program is not an option). And, there is also an arab pony that a friend of mine owns and is boarded at barn #2. At barn #1, none of the horses are competitive at all as most are retired and it is more of a backyard family barn.

Now here's the dilema: I have never felt very welcome at barn #2. The people are nice but it has never felt like home per say. I have put in many MANY hours of work at both barns, and at barn #1 I always get thanked for my work and feel like one of the barn crew. At barn #2, I have always gotten the feeling that I am expected to do more than I can possibly find time for.