The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default too conservative a trainer??

I am watching this phenomenon unfold where kids learning to ride are not being let off lead lines. I started riding at the age of 8 and was NEVER on a lead line. I now see soooo many lessons at our barn where all these kids and I should mention adults too are on lead lines. Why is this? These kids look bored tearless!! Can anyone comment on this and perhaps give their thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by JumpergirlWI View Post
    I am watching this phenomenon unfold where kids learning to ride are not being let off lead lines. I started riding at the age of 8 and was NEVER on a lead line. I now see soooo many lessons at our barn where all these kids and I should mention adults too are on lead lines. Why is this? These kids look bored tearless!! Can anyone comment on this and perhaps give their thoughts?
    I START all of my students on a lead line, adult or child, until they are able to post and hold a two point with no reins. It takes maybe two or three half hour sessions for the average student to get the coordination down.

Then they go on a longe line until they can "steer" the horse and keep him on the outside of the longe circle without much help.

Then they "go large" still on the longe with me sticking close by, steering circles around me, halting and starting again, doing some short trots down the long side.

Then they "go large" with me sticking close by but no longe line.

Then they "go large" with me standing in the middle.