The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

scalter Guest

Default How to get over loss???

Long story very short I am haveing a really hard time getting over the death of my horse and getting back into riding. Background - I have been riding since I was 8 years old (31 now) I was lucky enough to get my 'heart' horse when I was in college, a 4th level dressage horse, I had him for 10 years before I had to put him down 2 years ago when he colicked. I had trained him through GP but wasn't able to show due to lack of funds (I decided what little money I had was better spent on training than showing) that being said it has been my goal for as long as I can remember to compete at the upper levels. I have only ridden a handful of times since his death - what I am having a hard time with now is still being so upset after what seems like a long time (ie shouldn't I be over this by now) I want to ride again I can't imagine my life without horses but at the same time I can't go to the barn without crying. It makes me crazy that something I have always loved to do is making me so sad right now, but at the same time I can't imagine not going back to riding. Has anyone else had issues like these? How do you get over both the loss of a once in a lifetime horse as well as the loss of competetive goals (I am in a position to buy a new horse now but not financially able to buy anything fancy/compete etc) Do I need to wait until I am done crying about my old horse to get a new one or will just making myself ride again help? My husband understands that I want to ride again but doesn't really know how to deal with me when I am excited about riding again one second and crying about myhorse the next - any advice at all would be appreciated!