The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Frivolous tailor-related hunt coat question

So our hunt specifies black coats for the formal season, and my hunt coat from back in my eq days is green. I do, however, have a gorgeous black dressage coat (for the lower levels; not a shadbelly) that has been hanging unused in all its pricey glory (dressage mare is laid up w/ tendon injury).

I know that the cut of a dressage coat as-is is entirely wrong for hunting, including the four buttons, etc. (Plus I'm brand new to this hunt specifically and hunting in general, so swanning about in what is essentially a frock coat is not exactly the respectful-beginner air I'm going for ). But I have an excellent tailor in my neighborhood, so my question is this: which would make more sense, having the tailor re-work the dressage coat a bit to be hunt-appropriate, or just buying a new hunt coat?

Thanks for indulging me--I know this is not exactly an earth-shattering performance-related question!

Cool

I suggest that you talk to the MFH about the coat question. Frequently, the hunt will want the new rider to come out and participate more than insist on all the new regalia at one time.

I've worn my event show coat that was frock cut. Actually, the MFH's have been fine with it over many years. But, I always ask when I am going to another hunt. You may want different weights and fabrics for different temperatures, which will give you a choice of coats.
    Intermediate Riding Skills

I don't hunt myself (although I desperately want to!) but a lot of the eventers in my area who do a TON of hunting wear their dressage coats, and it's totally acceptable (around here, anyways).
    I've heard there's more to life than an FEI tent and hotel rooms, so I'm trying it.