The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Ordering helmets online?

I need to get a new helmet soon, but none of my local tack shops carry IRH. I'm too poor to buy a CO right now, so I'll need to order the helmet online.

Maybe it's just me, but it seems really strange to order helmets online. Is it safe? I mean, the second your helmet is dropped or exposed to extreme heat it needs to be replaced, and it seems like a helmet might accidently be dropped a few times in the shipping process.

Do they just double pack the box like you do when you ship computers?

Also, I'm planning to order from Smartpak, although I've never used them before. Any other preferred alternatives?

I think it's perfectly safe to order a helmet online. I've done it once, but just for a tipperary schooling helmet from Legacy Tack.

I order from SmartPak quite a bit and they always ship everything with extra paper in the box so you should feel perfectly safe ordering from them. Plus, their customer service is so good they will take good care of you if you have any issues.
    Proud owner of a Slaughter-Bound TB from a feedlot, and her surprise baby...!
    http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e350/Jen4USC/fave.jpg
    http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...SC/running.jpg

I order schooling helmets on line all the time. I get dial-at-fits for the lesson business. I have no concern about everyday drops in shipping. Shoot, my lesson students drop the helmets often enough.

If you are worried about heat, then order on the weekend so it is packed and shipped on Monday.

I guess I don't see any difference in the risk of dropping/heat for a direct ship to me versus as direct ship to the store.
    Where Norwegian Fjords Rule
    http://www.ironwood-farm.com