My 8 year old daughter is showing an interest in riding with me (I confess I'm guilty of converting her to "the cult..." though she's been a "willing" inductee! ). We live in the far western part of Fairfax County. One barn where I used to ride in the area nearby no longer has an appropriate mount (read: pony or small horse) for her. The barn where I currently ride will not take young riders until they are 10; most of the current riders at my barn are young adults and adults, and knowing the horses, I can see how there isn't an appropriate mount for a child her age.

I started riding when I was 12. She'll be 8 next month. She isn't on the Pony Club/competition route (yet?!). She's been around the barn with me several times (while I did barn work and rode) to have barn basics (I've supervised her as she leads, grooms, etc., though she's still shy around the horses). I've given her a few lead line lessons myself, on a sweet old horse at my old barn, and she did well and enjoyed it. Sadly, that is no longer an option. I'm horseless at the moment and pay for my own rides, so I don't have my own horse to teach her myself, or else I would. Leasing one for both of us is not an option, financially, at this time.

Browsing through VirginiaEquestrian.com, I came across a few group lesson barns in the area. One in particular, Jumpin' Jax Farm in The Plains appears to have a good child program, kid-friendly, safety-focused, and affordable. I honestly don't know of any others.