The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Hunting Clinic this weekend: What is appropriate dress?

Hi guys,

I'm new to the hunting scene. Actually, I've never hunted at all before. My only hunting experience was when I was a kid, I did some sort of hilltopping mock hunt and the pony I had who was normally a dream on trail rides had a total meltdown and nearly flipped himself over a couple of times and I was not invited to go out again.

I spent a lot of years doing hunters and jumpers and just never had a horse that would have been good at hunting. My one great jumper would have been great at it, if he didn't try and stomp on dogs, and my other great horse would have been perfect but our local hunt did not allow stallions. Last year I started dabbling in eventing, and this spring I ended up with a really cool Irish horse in a weird series of events and I think I might finally have a horse to hunt!

I figured if I'm going to go out, I might as well figure out how to do it right, so I signed up for a clinic.

So my question is: what does one wear to a fox hunting clinic? Boots, breeches, and a polo or oxford as I would to a normal clinic?

What should my horse have on? Square pad, fitted pad, boots, no boots?

Thanks in advance!

Boots, britches and a non-red polo shirt should be fine. The hunt won't care about the saddle pad although some version of white would always be acceptable.

You'll hear this I'm sure at the clinic but boots are not considered a good thing in the hunt field. Polo wraps are definitely a bad idea.

A fitted pad would be better.
    Equine Ink - My soapbox for equestrian writings & reviews.
    EquestrianHow2 - Operating instructions for your horse.

Quote Originally Posted by FitToBeTied View Post
    You'll hear this I'm sure at the clinic but boots are not considered a good thing in the hunt field.