The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default MD Riders- Potomac? Plus other questions from a novice!

Has anyone hunted with them at, I believe, their kennels location? Dickerson, MD I think. I'm going to their foxchasing clinic this Saturday with my TB, luckily it's casual attire, and hoping to have a great and educational time! I've never done this before, but have been DYING to try hunting out, and this seems like a fantastic opportunity. Plus, my TB shouldn't be so frisky since it isn't bitter cold out.

So my first question, has anyone been to this hunt? I want to know what to expect in terms of the terrain and obstacles. I'm sure my TB will be okay, since he'll be with others and more likely to be brave, but it's nice to know ahead!

Second, I'm trying to figure out whether I should do the jumping group (fences no higher than 3'3") or the flat one (trot/canter only). We've only done limited obstacles out cross country and I've only had him do 3' in the ring. Granted, he's super athletic and always overjumps them by a foot or so with LOTS of power... https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?p...&id=1050633285 I just don't know if the hunt will have this kind of thing again and I want to take full advantage of it so I can hopefully go hunting this winter. It's more me than him, so I'm sure he'd go right through in a pack, but what do you guys recommend? If I go in the jump group and don't think we can handle a jump, or he refuses, can we go around? What kinds of fences do you see out on the hunt field? Just split rail fences and logs mostly at that height?

Next! My TB is good with dogs, has never made weird eyes or offered to kick any of mine or the farm's nutty dogs that run around, but has anyone ever had a horse kick at the hounds? I know that's a big no-no, but horses are unpredictable- what are the chances of this happening?