The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Anastasiya_93 Guest

Default Free leasing my horse?

Okay, so this is my first time posting
    I have a five-year-old TB gelding, and since I'm off to university in September, even though I'm not going to be very far from home (an hour or so commute) I'm definitely thinking I won't have much time for him. The thing is, I'm very lukewarm on selling him, which is why I'm considering free leasing him. Unfortunately, my parents and I aren't exactly seeing eye to eye on this. They say that it's not a real 'business-way' of thinking. So, now I'm a bit confused on what to do :S
    I guess my question is, should I free-lease him? I don't want him sitting around in a field while I'm at university, as much as he would enjoy it :P

Free leasing (the lessee pays all expenses associated with horsekeeping to the appropriate parties, but does not pay a lease fee to the owner) can work out very well, IF you find someone reliable to take on your horse.

Writing up a very specific contract between you and the lessee is an important part of making the deal work.

What specifically do your parents object to?
    Athletic Horses. Educated Riders.
    www.Ride-With-Confidence.com

I had a big medical scare and resulting surgery in 2002 and sent the horse I owned at the time out on a free lease. It worked out very well and enabled me to keep the horse, while getting out from under his care (both in terms of cost and in terms of time and effort) for a year.

I think that a free lease makes a lot of sense for the situation you describe.
    Sheilah

Anastasiya_93 Guest