The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Robaxin - any side effects?

Have a new mare that previous owner said went better on Robaxin (prone to back soreness and then gets sticky on leads, and has seen chiro). I've never used this before and am a bit reluctant though I know it's used a ton on the show circuit. I'm just not one to give much of anything.

So I'm looking for some feedback on successes with this drug, how the horse responds, and any side effects? I feel a bit hesitant as the couple of times I myself have taken any sort of muscle relaxant I feel high as a kite, dizzy, and like my whole body is made of jelly....sure wouldn't want to ride a horse that felt like that LOL!

Other than actual muscle soreness I get the impression from talking to people that they are also using it as a "calming" or overall relaxing agent? Does it have that effect too, does the horse get kinda spacey at all?

Talked to my vet the other day and he doesn't use it much either. Said he could order me in a bottle but up here it's not cheap (well nothing is up here ) so I don't feel like blowing the wad on a whole bottle and then hating what it does to the horse.

Your experiences please?

I used it on my prone to soreness horse when we were bringing him out of his chronic, been in pain for years and no one did anything stage, and I really didn't notice that it greatly helped anything. No side effects though.

Acupuncture(MAJOR improvement after this, btw. 100% recommend it), chiro, and massage along with just good quality work that pushed him(sometimes a little past his comfort level) and really made him use his back muscles were what turned him around.

Now whenever he gets a little sore between his chiro/acupuncture sessions I've been doing warm/hot liniment baths with some epsom salts dissolved in. He lovesssss it.