The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Unhappy broken tailbone, riding, and career in jeopardy??

Most of you might remember my saying that I work as an intern and trying to get the apprenticeship job at a German farm. 2 weeks ago I had a nasty fall off my mare from jumping a 3' course (wasnt either one of our faults was fluck, she tripped) and I landed on a metal surface. I was hurt but okay and jumped back on and finished our course. I didn't feel as much pain as I do now riding because in the jump saddle in the light seat there is little to no contact with the saddle. But in the dressage saddle its like electricity running up my spine. I went to the doctor last Thursday who is pretty sure its broken but didnt take an xray because he is worried bout sending radiation through my reproductive area (I am only in my mid 20s and would like kids someday) But he gave me painkillers and said if I want the xray still I can still get it. Well, I am not sure what to do, its 2 weeks later and I took my mare for a light trail ride in my dressage saddle after a 5 day rest and I still couldnt bare 5 minutes in the saddle.