The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default "Trailer loading problem = leading problem" so how to fix LEADING PROBLEM?

I'll try not to make this a novel but I'm not very good at that!

My friend and I have some young horses. We don't take the kids too many places -- the farm is big enough to do whatever we need to do with them. But at some point in their young lives we do trailer training.

About a month ago we trained with three 2-year-olds and a yearling. Three of them walked right on and off the trailer several times like it was nothing.

One 2-year-old colt DID NOT. Here's the thing though. He too walked right onto the trailer -- and tripped with one foot and fell to his knees. Of course the trailer made that empty-tin-can sound when he fell, and he backed out very fast.

We worked with him using all of the tricks in our arsenal and came up with an epic fail. I am not going to list everything but as suggestions come up I can discuss. When we applied pressure, he would rear or brace.

Now I have heard that failure to load is a leading problem. But this colt seems to lead just fine. We do teach our horses to drive/longe in the NH way, i.e. point with one hand, drive with the other, but he is just starting that and is not a pro -- that's the only thing I can think of that I have used with other horses that we didn't try with him.

We'd be willing to do leading exercises not in conjunction with the trailer if that would help. I just don't know what those should be! So I'm looking for EITHER loading or leading suggestions. Some time soon we have to dedicate a day to this... ugh.
    Arrange whatever pieces come your way. - Virginia Woolf

Did you know that if you say the word "GULLIBLE" really softly, it sounds like "ORANGES"?