The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Mental health Pro's-Grad school question

Hi everyone!
    I plan on attending grad school as soon as I am finished with my BS in Psychology. Now here is the thing, I am at a loss of the best course of travel. Originally I wanted to go to grad school for sports psychology but now I am wondering if it would be wiser to complete a counseling program so I have more options. I have been working and riding as a professional (dressage) for the past 5 years, so I though eventually that could be a great combination. Also, not sure if I should try for PhD or PsyD or will I be ok just getting a masters? I would love to hear of others experiences! How important is it that the program is APA approved? I thought it was extremely important, but some have told me it really doesn't matter as long as its a good program. I have my eye on UT knoxville at the moment...currently going to school in Florida.

As far as riding goes, sold my last sales horse so am horseless for the first time since I was 6! Just relocated and transferred to a new school, so trying to get school sorted out first before finding out about all the barns around here. I have been teaching mainly the past couple of years, so as I finish school want to scale back on that, and be able to focus more on my own development as a rider.
    Any advice,words of wisdom, or suggestions much appreciated!
    It\'s not the color of the ribbon that counts,but the color of the ride.
    Oh My!

I am not a clinical psychologist, but I have spent about 20 years working with the profession, part of the time with the American Psychological Assocaition.