The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Wasn't sure where to put this. OTTB grabs bit, ducks, and runs....

I'm new to TBs... I have an almost 17 hh, 11 year old, who I adore. His previous owner did cross country and eventing with him. He's going to be my hunter/jumper (also hunter paces). I took him on a hunter pace this weekend, and at the beginning, he was great. He's a lot of horse, and I have him in a Kimberwick (snaffle) for a little extra control. Toward the middle to the end of the hunter pace, he was grabbing the bit, dropping his head WAAAAYY down, and taking off. My daughter saw it happening and would block him with her horse so he couldn't go around while I would start checking the reins HARD. He obviously likes to race, but most unnerving to me is the putting the head down where I can't pull it back up easily at all - he does buck. He didn't buck thankfully this weekend, but he does throw a tantrum occasionally in the ring and I end up riding out his bucking. At that speed, if he woudl have bucked, I would have been gone.

In the ring, when we jump, he jumps fairly flat, and then drops his head after a jump and tries to buck. He immediately throws me off balance when he jerks his head down after a jump.

Be easy on me, this is very new to me. Is there a different bit I should be using to help me gain control of him and lift his head a bit when he throws his head down and takes off running? I can keep doing the check and release if that will make him stop but I don't want to do the wrong thing while I get him to stop this. I want to try to do this the right way.

Hate to break it to you, but if he's been off long enough for a previous owner to have a short eventing career your problems have nothing to do with him having at one point been on the track. Three months off, maybe... several years? Not so much.