The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Horse. Won't. Lunge. :(

Let me start off by saying that I'm not a beginner rider, and have lunged many a horse in my day, but I cannot get my horse to lunge. He either stands there staring at me, refusing to budge, OR he completely BLOWS up and goes rodeo on me, and when this happens, after he finishes pitching his bucking fit, he'll take off galloping away, snatching the line out of my hands. If I do manage to get him going, he'll make about a half a circle, and then will immediately want to "join-up" or whatever you want to call it, to get out of doing any work. He's very smart, and very lazy. Any suggestions?

My horse used to be a bit like that. Lunge on a circle no bigger than your lunge whip to start. If he stops, hit him with the whip. He isn't confused, he's being rude and avoiding work. I'm pretty patient with my sensitive guy, but stopping gets his ass beat untill he starts forward again, no questions asked. I don't care how fast he goes, but he damn well needs to move his feet. Stopping and facing you is (IMO) about the rudest thing they can do (if they are not genuinly confused) It's the horse equivalent of eff you.

Make him walk, even if it's in a circle 5 feet across with you in the midde. Not a slow balking walk, but a I-said-forward walk. If he takes off, that's why he's on a short line. Push his butt OUT with the whip and pull his head IN with the whip, but DO NOT let him stop. He can't take off if you keep him on a small circle and don't let him get his nose turned away from you.