The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Reasonable...or unreasonable?

I am an intern at a breeding and small training farm 5 minutes away from my own small farm. I am in my senior year in high school and have been going there and working 3 hours a day (half of my school day and then some) unpaid since January. I love this farm, I love the owners and trainer, and I love working there. I know they really appreciate my help as well, since they can't afford anymore help, and they have made it clear to myself, my school intern counselor, and my dad that I'm the best intern they've had and they love me too. They've asked me to continue working there during the summer if I don't have any plans (which I don't) and if I want to, which I would love. I'm planning on working longer during the summer than I do now, say like 9am to 2pm 5 days a week instead of 11:30am to 3pm like now. So that's all fine and dandy.

However, I'm thinking of asking the barn owner if she'd consider letting me board my main riding horse there this summer for free or a small fee. This would work out wonderfully for me because I could actually ride him every day when I'm done working, which I can't do at home because the ground is either very very wet or extremely hard. This farm has a ring with footing in it that is pretty good in all weather. I don't think this would be a problem for the barn owner because this way I would still come work for free every day feeding all the horses, mucking out stalls, holding for the vet, exercising one of her homebreds she doesn't want to sell that the trainer sometimes uses, grooming the horses, working with the young horses, and working with the foals. She has severe arthritis so it's almost impossible for her to do all those things, let alone in one day.