The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default How to get comfortable in a dressage saddle?

I'll start by saying I've done hunter/jumper my whole life and I'm an intern at a breeding farm that does eventing with their horses (I've been there 5 months). They have a good trainer that I like and gives me free lessons on one of their horses (otherwise the horse wouldn't be getting ridden). We've been concentrating on flatwork for the few lessons that I've done, with a little jumping in the last one (horse still isn't fit and is a bit rusty on his flatwork). The trainer does all of his flatwork in his dressage saddle on the horses, and only uses the jumping saddle when taking them out up and down hills for conditioning and jumping, of course. For my first lesson, he put me in his Devoucoux dressage saddle- a very very nice saddle. However, I just couldn't get truly comfortable in it with the long stirrups. The saddle is the right size and the stirrups were the correct length, but I'm used to close contact saddles with relatively short stirrups. I found it much more difficult in the dressage saddle to get him moving because it seemed harder to really use my leg but stay well balanced in the saddle. I know I have pretty good leg strength- I'm a little out of riding shape but I can post around without stirrups for a while fine with my leg very solid, but only in a "shorter" position if that makes sense. The other two lessons I have done with this trainer I used the jumping saddle and had a much easier time, but we also incorporated a few jumps at the end.