The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Horseshoes held on with glue?

Hey everyone,

I am new to this forum and I am not a horse expert by any means. I have never owned a horse but I am looking into going into equine veterinary medicine.

My question has to do with horseshoes that are held on with glue. Is this better for the hoof for horses with lameness issues? I just read an article about how this new glue on horseshoes was the best thing thats ever happened to hoof care. I was wondering what everyones opinion on this was.

Barn mate who is a high-level reiner just had some glue-ons applied. Lots and lots of manicure jokes. Anyway, I sat in with the farrier to learn about it, and it seems very very specific to a certain diagnosed problem, and (BTW) not expected to be permanent. (We see farrier every 7 weeks.) Specifically there was a wall weakness concern that nail-ons were not a good option. Had had some screws in last set but still the concern was that the screws/nails further weakened the wall when the farrier/owner team was trying to build it up and out. The glue-ons were very high-tech and this particular application involved a wedge. Very cool. Not something I would advise people to go out an get, as it was a very specific solution to a very particular problem on a high-level horse that does those dramatic sliding stops and spins that make me throw up. The science of being a good farrier is something way beyond me, although I try to soak up as much as I can every 7 weeks.

As someone who has used glue on shoes for a particular horse, I can say it is MUCH more expensive around here to get glued on shoes and also, sometimes, they don't stay on as well due to improper application or application conditions (i.e. moisture, temp, etc.). That has been my experience.