The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question 2 month old filly - too big??? Update - started Foal Aid

I will preface this by saying I am a newbie breeder and this is my first foal.

Filly was 2 months old yesterday. She is currently 48" tall (and butt high) and the weight tape is between 320-350lbs. She seems so much bigger than other foals of similar age and even breeding.

Dam is a 17.1hh TB who does throw big. She is also big bodied herself. Sire is Cunningham, 17.1hh Holsteiner.

Filly basically just nurses. Momma eats Omolene 300 supplemented with Alfalfa Chafhay and is not big on sharing but baby can sneak a bite here and there. She does nibble on grass and is out 24/7.

Joints and proportions look good, IMO. Was at vet last week while momma was being bred and no problems were noted. Everybody just went on and on about how big she was!

2 conf pics from yesterday...not the best but hard to photograph a VERY friendly filly all by yourself.
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?p...&id=1359927263

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?p...&id=1359927263

Full FB album with pics since birth - https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?...3&l=958d4fce08

I guess the point of my rambling post is...
    Should I be supplementing her in any way to support her rapid growth (if she is indeed growing too rapidly!)?
    Last edited by JenRose; May. 25, 2011 at 11:15 PM.
    Animals are not disposable!!!
    http://www.pawsnela.org

She is one big girl, and very pretty.

Nothing more to add, I just like the photos!!

I want her and her little pony friend!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by JSwan View Post
    Prove it....Otherwise, you're just coming off as a whackjob.
    Founding member of the "Not too Klassy for Boxed Wine" Clique