TallyHoFarm Guest

Question Rotational Fall Question

Hi all! I often read the forums, but this is my first time posting. I need some advice.

I'm looking at a mare who has a decent record, but had a rotational fall at her first prelim out on cross country jump. I plan to do mostly novice/training. Should I go look at her? Or would most of you stay clear of a horse that has done that in the past? I know a lot of falls are freak accidents, but also didn't know how much of it is usually due to jumping form and ability.

Any thoughts would be great. Thanks!!!

It's hard to know without knowing what the rider is like? Sometimes it can be rider error, sometimes horse error.

The horse's natural form and style over a jump should give you some indication of whether it is naturally inclined to snap those front feet up out of the way, but as you say - sometimes these things are just freak situations.

ETA; just because I am currently enjoying looking through all of these!
    To illustrate my point, I personally would much prefer the natural style of this horse:
    http://www.photoreflect.com/store/Or...002&po=2&pc=38
    Over this horse:
    http://www.photoreflect.com/store/Or...001&po=1&pc=46

(It helps to look at their thumbnail pages to see how the style continues no matter what the jump, but for some reason I can't link to their thumbnail pages, just individual shots.)

Has she gone on to have good rounds post fall? Does she normally jump in safe form, not hanging legs or leaving them behind? What type of question did she fall at? Is she backed off now on xc, or is she still happy to go?