The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Sam's Club membership...worth it?

I've been thinking about getting a Sam's Club membership but can't decide if it's actually worth it or not. I'm a vet student, live alone but my boyfriend often eats at my apartment and I pretty much buy for two (as does he...we split things fairly evenly). Has anyone with a membership found the savings to be worth the $40 membership for just two people? I really don't think I need huge bulk amounts of every item but saving some money on meat, etc sure would be nice with 90/10 ground beef going for about $4/lb around here. Do you actually save money in the long run or do you just end up buying large quantities for roughly the same price as Wal-Mart?

Just in my experience, I think it's a great deal if you have large amounts of hungry teenage boys to feed.

For a couple? Not so much. If I were you I'd start doing more in the way of watching sale flyers and clipping coupons. If you buy meat when it's on sale (For example, whole foods recently put their organic chicken breasts on sale for $2.99lb, just for one day on the weekend) you can easily freeze it for later.

I go a couple times a year. I do the annual trip for the bale of toilet paper and paper towels, but I go the rest of the year for small things for cheap! I got my netbook there for less than $300, I buy my dog beds (huge ones for $18, $60+ at Sprawl-Mart), other pet stuff, occasional treats, books, movies, etc. Good stuff, I like it!
    COTH's official mini-donk enabler

"I am all for reaching out, but in some situations it needs to be done with a rolled up news paper." Alagirl

We had a membership for a year and let it lapse since we did not buy in large quantities. For the amount we bought, we soon realized that we could often find better deals at Walmart, Target, or even many of the supermarkets.