The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    HelmetHelpAlter Guest

Default Help me make the argument for helmets!

I am a mounted police officer. I work in a decent size city and we have a small, full-time mounted unit. We have 4 horse/rider combinations. Our uniform has always included a campaign hat like this: https://tandtuniforms.com/shop/catal...aign%20hat.jpg

I don't know if it's age or maturity catching up with me but I realize more and more, we look like idiots not wearing helmets. Our horses are well trained but no horse is completely bomb-proof... I just feel like it's an accident waiting to happen.

I know one thing is for sure... the department can say anything they want but if one of us has a traumatic brain injury, the department will not be left with the burden of carrying for the injured officer.

So, who can help me with info to fight this battle? I have already spoken with the three other officers. One sees my point and agrees that it's a good idea but doesn't completely support it. One is completely against it, thinks they look stupid, would be hot and uncomfortable. The third I'm sure is somewhere in between.

A big part of it is the look. I agree a traditional helmet would look silly but I think a GPA speed air in all black would look very nice. Of course, that's a $2400 investment that I'm asking the department to make in this horrible budget year.

Anyway, I need stats I think to back up my argument.
    TIA!

This one is easy. Show the hat to their workman's comp provider.

Show them the helmets the British Police Force use--should be easy enough to find pix this close to the wedding.

I did a quick Google image search for mounted police and a lot of them wear helmets.
    Here's some:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...ted-police.jpg

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_DTG5vL_NhE...d%2Bpolice.jpg