The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default A vent about staffing.

As I am a H/J business owner so I am posting here...

My vent.
    I hate staffing for stall cleaners. My stable is located in super horsey area, and I can't keep this position filled. (I have fired many guys). My beef is why is this hard. Come to work, on time please. Follow the instructions, as I showed you to do it. Please don't smoke in the entry way of the barn, or throw your cigarette butt in my parking lot. Yes, you need to feed the hay the way I want. They won't poop less if you restrict their feed. Clean shavings will not dry out a wet spot you failed to remove two days ago. You wouldn't have to strip the stall if you cleaned it right the first time. That part is for the off- the street laborers.

For you horse crazy ladies and WS. I really need you to do the most basic part of the horse care. Their health and a CLEAN stall are realy really important. I am not sorry that I cannot offer free riding to you other than on the horses need to WALK or light trot, or the lesson horses. I ride, my assistant rides, and their owners ride, they pay for those rides, that is why there is a place for you here. Yes, really I think that stall needs MORE bedding. I know the tub/ cart/ wheel barrel are heavy; I have cleaned ten zillion stalls. Now it is your turn. Please stop being grumpy because you have to work while the other ladies ride the horses they are fortunate enough to own; this is life; and I cannot change it.

I not sorry that I am not going to pay you 15.00/ per hour while you text, gossip, smoke, lie and just plain don't do your job!

Thank you, and seriously now. Other BO/ trainers, why can't I find good people to do the most basic part? I want it done the way I want it. Period. The right way.