The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Long drives alone

As some of you know, I go to school in Minnesota and am originally from New York. In about 2 weeks, I'm driving home for the summer - a 22 hour drive (don't worry, I'm doing it over 2 days). I've done some long driving by myself before, but never more than 8 hours in one direction. This is my first time going to/from school alone. Just wondering if anyone could give tips/do's/don'ts. Thanks in advance!

Quote Originally Posted by supershorty628 View Post
    As some of you know, I go to school in Minnesota and am originally from New York. In about 2 weeks, I'm driving home for the summer - a 22 hour drive (don't worry, I'm doing it over 2 days). I've done some long driving by myself before, but never more than 8 hours in one direction. This is my first time going to/from school alone. Just wondering if anyone could give tips/do's/don'ts. Thanks in advance!
    Get some good sleep, not only the night before but in the several nights leading up.

I used to drive Minneapolis to West Palm Beach a lot. I actually did the trip straight through once, but that is not something I ever plan to attempt again. It required a lot of caffeine and speeding.

Even though it will require a few more "pit stops", be sure to keep yourself hydrated so you don't get fatigued. Gatorade has always been my friend on long trips. A good pair of polarized sunglasses will reduce eye strains.

Have fun! Make sure your car is road worthy and you are equipped for emergencies, and try to avoid Chicago at rush hour. Make sure you have change for toll roads too.
    "Is it ignorance or apathy? Hey, I don't know and I don't care." ~Jimmy Buffett

When in my early 20's in Europe, flying was not common, I used to do that 22 hour drive, once or twice a year, all in one day.