-
Apr. 21, 2011, 02:00 PM
#21
I also think it's a scam - agreed with post # 9: usually only gaited horses are capable of performing a Flatfoot Walk.
However, the headshake of a gaited horse while in Walk or Flatfoot Walk is called "headnod". It is most prominent at the Flatfoot Walk, because it allows the horses head and neck deeper in greater counter-balance to the increased length of stride. The headnod aids the driving rear end thrust, so the bigger the stride, the deeper the corresponding headnod.
Also, some horses have a more prominent headnod than others...
Abusive and incorrect showing/riding/training is (unfortunately) seen in lots of places - it is up to the responsible horse owner/rider to make the right choice....
Classical Horsemanship
-
Apr. 21, 2011, 05:37 PM
#22
Response from Horsetopia
Hello,
Thank you so much for contacting us about this. Your suspicions appear to
be right -- most of these ads look like scams. We have deleted some of
these ads and closed the seller's accounts. The other ones, we will keep
onfile. If a seller has a pattern of complaints or it is an obvious scam,
we will remove the ads and close the account.
With over 20,000 horses for sale and thousands more Horsetopia Local ads,
we are unfortunately unable to manually review each listing, so we really
appreciate it when members such as yourself notify us when you see
anything suspicious. I apologize for the inconvenience caused by this
situation. Thanks again for helping us keep our website scammer-free and
please don't hesitate to contact us again if you have any questions.
Best wishes, Lori
Horsetopia.com Customer Support
support@horsetopia.com
-
Apr. 21, 2011, 05:53 PM
#23
I was sold at "gets along with strangers and house hold pets". Seriously??
-
Apr. 21, 2011, 06:13 PM
#24
Friesians seem to be the latest back yard breeder delight.
I see this add was a scam, but I searched "Friesians and Friesian crosses" on Dreamhorse.com and got 146 horses that were priced under $3,500.
I think the good ones still cost $$, but there are a bunch of cheaper Friesians out there now.
-
Apr. 21, 2011, 06:16 PM
#25
 Originally Posted by NJRider
Response from Horsetopia
Hello,
Thank you so much for contacting us about this. Your suspicions appear to
be right -- most of these ads look like scams. We have deleted some of
these ads and closed the seller's accounts. The other ones, we will keep
onfile. If a seller has a pattern of complaints or it is an obvious scam,
we will remove the ads and close the account.
With over 20,000 horses for sale and thousands more Horsetopia Local ads,
we are unfortunately unable to manually review each listing, so we really
appreciate it when members such as yourself notify us when you see
anything suspicious. I apologize for the inconvenience caused by this
situation. Thanks again for helping us keep our website scammer-free and
please don't hesitate to contact us again if you have any questions.
Best wishes, Lori
Horsetopia.com Customer Support
support@horsetopia.com
Awesome!
-
Apr. 22, 2011, 09:46 AM
#26
 Originally Posted by Appsolute
Friesians seem to be the latest back yard breeder delight.
I see this add was a scam, but I searched "Friesians and Friesian crosses" on Dreamhorse.com and got 146 horses that were priced under $3,500.
I think the good ones still cost $$, but there are a bunch of cheaper Friesians out there now.
I would agree to a point, but have to add, I think this is true of almost any breed or type of horse - they get popular, and suddenly everyone is breeding them. Doing a similar search of the popular Warmblood breeds, and you get even more horses under $3500. I'm afraid to even LOOK at the results for Arabians & their crosses But a nice Arab or Arab cross is still a quality horse worth some money.
I still don't see many "cheap" (under $7k) purebred Friesians, but the crosses are definately like the Warmblood crosses - a quality one is still more expensive, but the lesser quality are a "dime a dozen". The people breeding the quality ones are doing it with a purpose, and the others are just churning out horses. Pony mills... No offense to ponies
-
Apr. 25, 2011, 03:42 PM
#27
this ad screams SCAM.
do not trust that ad!
-
Apr. 26, 2011, 02:14 PM
#28
At least Horsetopia has acknowledged that they have a scam problem. I had an equivalent experience on horsetopia a couple of years ago when I came across a super cheap Belgian Warmblood. I then limited the search to just Belgian Warmbloods and removed the price max - lo and behold there was the exact same horse down to the pictures with a more accurate price on him, from somewhere thousands of miles away.
I sent a concerned email to horsetopia, and all I got was a buyer beware email.
-
Apr. 26, 2011, 02:32 PM
#29
I think the clear indicator of the scam is incorrect breed lingo.
Flat walking and Head shaking are TWH terms . While other horses can and do flat walk I think TWH and their like are the only breed that a head shaking or bobbing is sought after
"I would not beleive her if her tongue came notorized"
"I also trap them in a Have-a-Heart and shoot through the bars." 
-
Apr. 26, 2011, 03:30 PM
#30
 Originally Posted by MysticOakRanch
This is sadly true. I know someone whose stallion has shown up "for sale" about 10 times on this site. For prices ranging from $1500 to $10,000. Horsetopia and Craigslist are full of scams.
I found 2 of my horses and a few of PatO's (Columbus) for sale in FL on a website for the Irish Sport Horse Association
Penmerryl's Sophie RIDSH
"I ain't as good as I once was but I'm as good once as I ever was"
The ignore list is my friend
-
Apr. 27, 2011, 06:11 PM
#31
Howzabout a nice little 2010 six horse trailer for $4,200?
http://www.horsetopia.com/for-sale/l...ailers/l354553
-
Apr. 28, 2011, 10:17 AM
#32
 Originally Posted by carolprudm
I found 2 of my horses and a few of PatO's (Columbus) for sale in FL on a website for the Irish Sport Horse Association
Yeah, I even found my own stallion "standing" at a breeding farm in Mexico Even on their website - I've emailed them several times, but I suspect "no habla Inglis"... And since it is outside of the U.S., nothing I can do...
-
Apr. 28, 2011, 10:50 AM
#33
 Originally Posted by hackinaround
I think the clear indicator of the scam is incorrect breed lingo.
Flat walking and Head shaking are TWH terms . While other horses can and do flat walk I think TWH and their like are the only breed that a head shaking or bobbing is sought after 
Flat walk isn't just a TWH term. It refers to a flat footed walk as opposed to a jig-jog type park walk in saddleseat classes. Freisans are shown saddle seat. The head shake does sound odd for anything besides a walker though.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|