The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Lessons for very fearful adult beginner in SoCal?

Any recs for a very patient instructor in SoCal? Prefer Riverside county, but will drive if needed.

I'm trying to find a good lesson program for my mom. She's older, has some physical limitations and is TERRIFIED of riding. But she says she wants to do it, and trying to teach her myself is not doing our relationship any good at all. I am a terrible instructor and freely admit it.

She strongly prefers western (aka, there isn't enough xanax and alcohol on this planet to get her in a sadde without a horn she can hold) and she wants to eventually be able to go on short trail rides.

I don't want to be a doomsayer, but why on earth is your mother trying to ride is she is terrified of it? I think this is a really bad idea. The fastest way to get hurt on a horse is to be frightened of riding. I would try to redirect her efforts toward something she would enjoy more.
    Where Norwegian Fjords Rule
    http://www.ironwood-farm.com

Quote Originally Posted by IronwoodFarm View Post
    I don't want to be a doomsayer, but why on earth is your mother trying to ride is she is terrified of it?
    I don't get it either. If it was possible for me to talk her out of it I would, but y'know, crazy adults doing what they want and all. I've even gone so far as offer to buy her one of the parelli kits, so that she could stick with endless grondwork and still feel she was doing something (didn't phrase it quite that way to her!).

Since she wants to ride, finding her a qualified instructor with a safe , steady school horse is the best option as far as I can see.