The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Rider weight for medium pony

I have a lovely little 13.1hh pony who will hopefully be my dressage mount. I'm rather new to the disciple so I've asked my coach for a bit of help. While it isn't the ideal situation, she's about 5'11 and rides her about once a week, sometimes less. She's thin, but very fit and muscular from riding up to 6 dressage horses a day. Pony is a welsh pony. Not super fine boned, but definitely not a heavy type.

I've had some issues with this pony along the way, so its nice to have an experienced rider on her now and then.

She moves beautifully with my coach on her back. She lifts her back and looks so relaxed. Some of the time. She's also taken to rearing some of the time. Even though we have issues now and then, she has never considered rearing for myself. I'm beginning to wonder if it is my coach's additional weight.

I'm getting my chiropractor out to see her this week to see if anything is up, but would love to hear other's opinions until then.

My coach rode her Thursday and she looked terrible. Friday I rode her and she felt forward and light until the middle of the ride when she started just tuning out and she felt stiff. Saturday she felt stiff in her back right from the start and just seemed to get worse. I had a friend hop on her today to get a second opinion and she thought she felt horrible. I watched from the ground and while she didn't appear to be off, she had a choppy trot and a tense back and seemed she wanted to try but just couldn't. I was stunned to see her look so different.