The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Video cameras for foaling

OK, stupid question from a newbie here....

My mare is due to foal in July, and barn owner suggested I buy a camera to install to watch her (BO has used camera before for her mares, but hers is old, and she also has a foal due this summer as well). Do you guys have any suggestions as to cheapish cameras that work well for foaling that you particularly like? Any to stay away from? It seems to me that you could buy a basic home security camera, rather than one designed specifically with horse breeders in mind, and find better online deals. FWIW, there is a WiFi network that reaches out to the barn that I could get on (not sure if this is how most cameras work or not).

Any and all suggestions welcome. Just trying to figure out how the more seasoned pros do it! Thanks!

I have used cctv cameras that are meant for home security for years. They are good in fairly low light and have sound (which I have found to be critical, as I tended to doze a bit but changes in noise always woke me up). Mine are hardwired, as the run to the barn was lengthy. They hook up to a small monitor that can handle 4 different cameras at a time. I've had the system since 2001 and it has paid for itself in time and energy saved.

If there's wifi, you could set up a webcam. I have 2 cameras in my foaling stall, one that runs to my house via cable (barn is quite close to the house) and connects to a TV in my bedroom. I also have a webcam connected to a laptop that I put in the hayloft above the foaling stall and I can check on my mare when I'm at work Only hiccup this year is we are no longer able to view anything streamed at work, so I had to figure out how to remotely watch my home desktop from work. Think I've got it figured out now, so I should be all set.
    Tracy Anderson