The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question (Mentally) rehabbing a jumper- Can it be done? (or- WWYD)

I've been riding for 20+ years and am finally (FINALLY) in a position where I can buy my first horse. Ideally, I'm looking for a horse that I can start eventing with (BN) and work up to training level (maybe, MAYBE, prelim...but probably not) and also just overall trail ride and have fun with. I've found a horse that I'm very interested in, well within my budget, but horse's current trainer says he needs work. He is still green but very willing, pleasant to be with, and in most ways seems to fit everything I'm looking for. However, it seems (accd. to trainer) that he was a bit over-faced jumping as a youngster, and as a result has confidence issues. Horse is currently doing some jumping, but nothing high or extensive. However, horse is supposedly doing well with gaining confidence with an appropriate rider.

My question is- would you take the risk? I only know a couple horses who developed severe jumping "phobias", for lack of a better term, and neither one ever recovered. Granted, these are only 2 examples. Have any of you successfully rehabbed an over-faced horse, enough that horse actually began to enjoy it and move up the levels and do well? Also, since this seems so obvious (why not just try the horse myself a few times)- horse is located far enough away that while it is not impossible to go test ride it myself, it is also probably not worth it unless I'm 99% sure I want it. Also, I am just beginning my search, so part of me thinks I should look more locally first and take a wait-and-see approach with this horse. WWYD?

You might get better responses from the event board, but IMO that doesn't sound like the ideal candidate for a first event horse. I think I'd rather a very green jumper than a scared one.