The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Angry How to deal with...

...a horse that bounces on his front end like he is going to go up into a full on rear?? This is long...bear with me...

Background: I started riding this horse about 3 weeks ago, after he'd been at another trainer's farm his whole life. He's about six right now, but has had the previous year or more off due soundness issues. Now he is sound, and ready to get back to work.

He's still pretty green, doesn't do changes yet, but can jump around a course. Obviously I haven't jumped him more than itty bitty baby crossrails since he's been back in work....maybe a total of 5 fences. I'm bringing him back correctly and slowly.

He's not spooky at all, but does best when he has other horses around him, either working or at pasture...as long as he can see others.

Well, last night I went to mount in the indoor, and after I got on, I tried to make him stand still and he started hopping up. He didn't go into a full on rear, but I pushed him forward and he settled down and seemed fine.

We walked out to the arena and he went to work. He was fantastic, even when the other rider who was with me went out into the field to ride, then subsequently back to the barn and he was the only horse out there. He got a little speedy, but was not naughty, just unfocused. I finished on a good note, and made him wait a second by the gate since he tends to bulge towards it when we pass by (I think in an attempt to slip out). He stood patiently for a minute, then walked through the bit and out. When I circled him and kicked him forward to go back in, he started that bouncy crap again. I didn't have a crop on my so I dismounted and walked him back into the arena and put him back to work for another 10 minutes.