The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default UPDATE! I LOFF MY GRIPPY KERRITS!! - Grippy breeches for showing XC - any advice?

UPDATE! I bought the Kerrits Sit Tight Supreme in black, and I love them! Fit like skin, grip like glue, sound like a whoopie cushion! So last nite I washed them - they're hanging to dry. Haven't tried the Sporty spray yet. Thanks so much to all of you! That was fast!

Original post:
    I'm about to ride my very first cross country course at a fun day in MD on 4/3. I'm new to eventing, have ridden h/j forever, have owned, started & shown about 20 horses, but haven't ridden a lot (or shown) in the last 7-8 yrs. My horse is a tall 5 yr old TB I found and started a year and a half ago, green o/f, but gaining confidence. I've already gotten some really good advice from COTH Eventing Forum riders about starting eventing...so I'm back for more!

As I'm very eager to stay on top of my horse as I persuade him to go over scary, menacing 2 ft jumps, and as he is quite likely to catapult over the first couple, I'd love some advice about "grippy" breeches! I am 56, NOT skinny, getting back in shape after a wet, snowy S. Jersey winter, AND I'm short!

What have you found that works best, but isn't too pricey? Are full seat the way to go? Any new synthetic SuperGrip stuff used for knee or full seat portions of the breeches?

Any feedback that will assist me to stay on the horse, even better, in the saddle on the horse, will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
    Last edited by afox2332; Mar. 25, 2011 at 11:42 AM. Reason: solution found!

Saddle Tight. Much cheaper and sticker than a fancy new pair of breeches. HAVE FUN!!
    Proud and achy member of the Eventing Grannies clique.