The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Hi All!! Newbie needing advice!!

I am new to the sport and was hoping you veterans could give me some tips on beginning eventing. I have a 7yo 14.2 Morgan gelding that I have had since he is two. I just trail rode him for years until I moved to an H/J barn a couple years ago and started taking lessons and training. He is somewhat spastic but strangely dependable..hard to explain. He's a real character!! But he's super smart and willing so I think we would really enjoy it. What would be the proper way to begin conditioning him? Are you allowed to wear a watch? I am doing just the 18in class in a schooling show. Thanks!!

Welcome!
    Go to the top of the forum and click on "Eventing FAQs". Post #5 is all about getting started in eventing. Read through the threads there and that will give you an idea of what more you need to know.
    To answer your specific questions:
    1. Special conditioning is not terribly necessary at Tadpole/ 18" levels beyond the riding/schooling that you will need to do to prepare.
    2. Watches are allowed at all levels in recognized competitions, but schooling shows can set whatever rules they like so check with the show management.

Do you have a good event instructor? If you give your general location then people can help you find one.

If you do a search you might find posts about other people who event Morgans.