The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Adult reriders and new riders: how's it going?

I first posted here -- 5 years ago? -- because I was an adult rerider and wanted... advice, reassurance, and validation I suppose.

Me: Wanted to be a ballerina as a child and discovered, alas, that I was no Gelsey Kirkland or Suzanne Farrell. (Ballet claim to fame: I was a soldier in the Nutcracker that was staged at Nassau Coliseum when I was young and, unrelatedly, at age approximately 11, I got to pet Mikael Barishnakov's golden retriever!)

I quit ballet and rode, until about age 20, the equivalent, probably, of a year once-weekly. From ages 14 - 20, all riding was trail riding (I'm sure you could count those rides on one hand, too.

Then, a few years back, I was working on a political campaign. Beautiful summer day in a New England town and boy, was I sick of trying to talk to people about my candidate. A woman in riding clothes walks towards me and instead of launching into my spiel, I asked her about her riding.

It was like pressing a button. She GUSHED about her horse -- bought for the kids who lost interest, so she decided to ride. Her instructor was awesome. She loved the "not a show-horse" barn she boarded at. And I, who had occasionally thought about going on a trail ride and being competent enough to be allowed to canter, thought -- huh, I should take some lessons.

Ended up visiting that barn and started riding. Planned on an hour week, which quickly became twice-weekly hour-long lessons. And then... Political campaign was over and it was time to return home to NY.

By this time, it wasn't just a matter of wanting to be confident enough to canter. I wanted to get better. Get GOOD. And then I watched an event at Town Hill (Lakeville, CT) the following summer and.... well.

Right now my count is