The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Apple Cider Vinegar? Turmeric?

Does anyone feed either or both of these to their horses? If so, do you find it has helped, and how much do you feed?

Are there any negative side affects to either of these supplements?

Thereis virtually nothing in ACV that is beneficial or worth giving a horse.

Turmeric has some very modest anti-inflammatory properties, and also can "thin" the blood. Safety profile sort of unknown; I would personally treat it like a drug with potential side effects that are not very well laid out, as is the case with many herbals.
    Click here before you buy.

ACV; I have tried Bragg Apple Cidar for self and my horses. As I studied their benefits, old timers would use it for all sorts of help to cleanse and heal. Insect bites, a cough, PH balance (soaking foot), kills bacteria, fungus, viruses and more. I have used in their feed, very little, approx. 2 tbs and for a short term.

Old timer testimonial
    "my father was a splendid farmer and many times, I would watch him add ACV to feed and water of ailing animals (cattle, horses, sheep, dogs, cats, birds etc) and it acted like magic. ACV seemed ot posses a miracle ingredient that helped restore health to the animals" Nearest vet was 32 miles by horse and buggy

There is a ton of testimonials about benefits for humans, I personnal have tried for colds, sore thoats with good results.

http://www.bragg.com/
    Last edited by HealingHeart; Feb. 27, 2011 at 09:48 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by deltawave View Post
    Thereis virtually nothing in ACV that is beneficial or worth giving a horse.