The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Quick, do I want an F250 V8 4.6L?

I've been casually looking for a truck, do not yet have a trailer. I will be getting a 2 horse tag along w/o dressing room, WB sized. I have been offered a very, very good deal on an F250 4x4, V8, 4.6L truck (super cab) with under 100k miles that is a real no-frills vehicle. It has a factory tow package but has not been used to haul a horse trailer so would need to be wired thru for trailer brakes. This is for sure not my dream truck, but I do not have a lot of $ to spend and this is a very good deal, as I said. I am looking for opinions quick as to whether I would be good to go with a truck of this size or whether I should move on deal or not. Thanks in advance.

I am no expert, but from what I have read and studied, this is what you want - if it was a good deal, I would go for it, especially since it comes with the factory tow package. YOu can upgrade the details. man, if its a good price, I wouldn't let it go by, but that's just me and like I said, I don't own a truck and trailer yet, so hopefully this bumps it up and others chime in.
    Airborne? Oh. Yes, he can take a joke. Once. After that, the joke's on you.

Thanks - still deciding and hope I'll get some more input here. I need to add also, this is NOT a superduty. It is a regular duty, older F250 with the small engine (4.6L V8). Beggars can't be choosers with my budget, but I want to make sure I don't wind up wishing I had more truck, or worse being unsafe.

Are you sure of the specs on this? I couild not find a listing for an F250 with the 4.6L engine. Smallest I found was a 5.4L V8. The F150 was offered with a 4.6 V8. Depending on a number factors towing capacity was in the 6000-7000 lb. range.

The downside of gas engines is that they are fuel hogs when towing.